Brand new Exedy Clutch Slipping

Search this Thread

Old 03 April 2010, 10:25 AM
Rob Day
Scooby Regular

Received 13 Likes on 11 Posts
Default Brand new Exedy Clutch Slipping

Hello guys,

As some of you will know I ripped 2nd gear off the gearbox under normal conditions last week, so after sourcing advice on here it was replaced along with a new clutch two days ago.

The garage (not to be named) had a low mileage gearbox in from a car they were breaking (I know of the car), so this was the donor and I bought a genuine exedy clutch kit from a supplier. On removing the box the flywheel had noticable wear and cracks in it, so this was replaced with am exedy lightweight flywheel. The car was put back together and it seemed ok on a gentle ride around the surrounding area. I shelled out the cash and off I popped home. I was advised to take it easy with no launching etc. Im a mature driver so this isnt a problem for me, however on the motorway on the way home in 3rd, 4th and 5th the clutch was slipping very noticably. I pulled in to the next service station and rang the garage. They said the clutch should not be lsipping, but then said not to worry as its still bedding in..
The clucth does seem to be quite high, higher than i would expect on a new kit, Is there an adjuster on the Scooby's?

Ive only had around half a dozen clutches replaced on all my motors in my drive life, and have never experienced clutch slip on a new clucth kit hence the reason for this thread.

Any help would be helpfull thanks Rob

Thread I hijacked:
https://www.scoobynet.com/general-te...questions.html
Old 03 April 2010, 10:31 AM
mr_D
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

maybe needs bleeding correctly. my exedy one didnt slip when it was new. not once. and you did right by putting in a new fly wheel.

get it bled again and see if that makes a difference.
Old 03 April 2010, 10:39 AM
Rob Day
Scooby Regular

Originally Posted by mr_D