Notices

potential new owner after some advice!

Search this Thread

Old 26 February 2010, 05:01 PM
markstand
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default potential new owner after some advice!

hey guys/girls?

just a quick one as im new to all this and hopefully about to buy my new scooby!

Basically im looking for a uk turbo2000 and think ive found one.
its a 99/00 with 118k on the clock, 2 owners from new and fsh and its up for £2900... and i believe totally standard which is also what im after.

question im asking is this;

do you think £2900 is a tad high on price? (prob hard to say with not seeing car)

are there any major issues or things to look out for when buying, as 118k miles seems quite a bit but im prepared to take it as its got the history to back it up.

is there anything that might be a problem even though its got fsh?

are there any common issues/ faults to look out for?

thanks for your time people, if i end up buying it ill stick up some pictures!!

mark

Last edited by markstand; 26 February 2010 at 05:04 PM. Reason: incorrect mileage
Old 26 February 2010, 05:20 PM
happydude303
Scooby Regular

yeah knocking in the engine which does not go away when warm listen to it from being dead cold all the way to warm up tkae it for a good 20 minute run down a nice big raod werer you can get some power donw then check to see if there is water bubblign up in the over flow ont he pansger side at teh front of the engine bay as that will be a big no buy and im sure a few other guys on here will point out soem stuff oh high and wellcome to the club : >
Old 26 February 2010, 07:10 PM
GMballistic
Scooby Regular

Welcome to Scoobynet Mark.
Wouldn't know where to start Mark TBH. It's just like buying any other second hand car but just a little bit more expensive if something goes wrong IMO. With the mileage on that car I'd be really thinking about will it need a re-build? and can you afford it if it happens? (can't comment on the price sorry)