Notices

Remapping: Is it REALLY necessary?

Search this Thread

Old 03 June 2009, 09:59 AM
ishan
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Remapping: Is it REALLY necessary?

I've searched on this matter, but all i've found is people saying you HAVE to remap, even after things like adding a decat and induction kit.

I'm new to Subaru's but i've lightly modified a few Peugeot's and Vauxhall's with things such as high lift cams, raised compression, exhausts and enlarged throttle body.

I have only remapped one of my cars (a 106 rallye running race 1.6 16v engine on standard 1.3 managment) which was in sorely need of it due to the MAJOR difference.

As per my previous post, I have a suspected blown turbo (td04?) on my MY98 UK T2000 wagon, and looking to replace with a VF23 turbo which I can pick up for about £100.

The car is my daily driver, in which I drive just too and from work in about 10 miles round trip, and whatever I do at the weekends. Roughly about 7k a year. I hardly ever go flat out in it, apart from the Nurburgring at the weekend, which was when the Turbo went.

My issue is do I REALLY need to remap the ecu just to run this similar but slightly larger turbo to my car. What would actually be the conseqences if I just bolted it on and drove? I can understand the benefits to a good map, but due to the costs, i would rather not at remap at this stage.

Can anyone please explain what happens if I dont from REAL experience?
Old 03 June 2009, 11:12 AM
saxx
Scooby Regular