Gearbox won't pull off Engine

Search this Thread

Old 16 February 2008, 07:06 PM
shknapps
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Gearbox won't pull off Engine

Hi all can anybody help?
I am half way through changing my bugeye 5speed 2001 clucth i am using one of the down load manuals and have followed it completely. only trouble is the gearbox won't seem to pull away from the engine. I have remove six bolts and two nuts from the bell housing. I can see what look like two dowels. I have soaked them in penetrating oil but still no joy. I am at the stage in the manual off sliding the gearbox off on a gearbox jack. But i'm on axel stands and am using a trolley jack. I have never done a scobby before but other cars it seems still bolted on to me but where! Have try a light prise betwwen gearbox and engine but so stiff am worried about breaking somthing Any help gratefully received.

One other thing whilst i'm at it, i am changing my offside inner cv boot can't see how the inner joint is held on do i have to remove the hub side and slide the inner boot over that way?

Old 16 February 2008, 07:27 PM
matty g
Scooby Newbie

have you removed clutch pin under 10mm allen bolt from where starter sits if you have then you just need to give it a whack with a chisel where the starter sit between engine and box. if you also tap roll pin out of inner shaft once off mounts you can ease inner joint off box. then you can remove inner boot, slide inner casing off. then remove circlip holding inner joint. make sure the three round rollers on the inner shaft dont fall off. real pain trying to get needle rollers back in. hope this is of help. matty
Old 16 February 2008, 07:39 PM
shknapps
Scooby Regular

Hi matty thanks for reply.
YES i have removed shaft under 10mm hex plug, is there nothing eles i can do? Bit worried about hitting it with a chisel as seems stuck fast!!