overheating 3.3 in offroad racecar

Search this Thread

Old 01 August 2007, 04:10 AM
rivmasta
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default overheating 3.3 in offroad racecar

hey all,

newbie here asking a question on behalf of a mate.

He's installed an 3.3 import engine into an offroad racecar and is having an overheating prob.

Fine on tight and twisty, fine on the dyno, overheats when on long straights at high RPM.

He's already put in a bigger aluminium radiator and ducted it. changed thermostat, checked tune up high to make sure its not leaning out, changed water pump etc. all the normal stuff you might think of. Not being a scooby guru though he's running out of ideas.

Was hoping that someone here might be able to say "oh right he's got x wrong with it! common problem" and he'll go on to win a big race and name me as his saviour in his acceptance speech.

Basically I want to cash in on your knowledge! haha!

seriously, any help appreciated.
Old 01 August 2007, 07:13 AM
Spyder550
Scooby Regular

Where is the engine mounted in the off-road racer?
Old 01 August 2007, 07:36 AM
rivmasta
Scooby Newbie

Originally Posted by Spyder550
Where is the engine mounted in the off-road racer?
rear engined driving an audi transaxle.
Old 01 August 2007, 08:47 AM
jaytc2003
Scooby Regular

airlock in the cooling system?

incorrect ignition timing
Old 01 August 2007, 08:49 AM
The Zohan
Scooby Regular

Question

OK, what is high speed in this vehicle?

Where is the rad mounted, is it getting enough airflow at high speed, could it be being effected by aerodymnamics and the air not getting onto the airscoop/intake, please post picture(s) of the vehicle.

Have you got a leccy fan (or two) fitted, is this themostatically controlled or manually, might want to put in a manual switch to override.
Old 01 August 2007, 09:45 AM
Spyder550
Scooby Regular