Notices

Wastegate Solnoid "Chatter"

Search this Thread

Old 16 November 1999, 07:06 PM
Mark Cole
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Can anyone advise me the best way to quieten the wategate soleniod on my MY97.

The device in question makes an annoying rattling noise under very light throttle or when pulling away. The noise is probably there all the time but is drown by engine/road noise at speed.

It's been bugging me for ages and my dealer finally identified it as the cause and claims "they all do it". Does anyone have any experience of a new one relieving the problem?

The technician said they have tried extra packing (rubber washers) where it secures to the suspension strut turret, and wrapping it in foam, both apparently help.

Any better ideas?
Old 17 November 1999, 12:11 AM
johnfelstead
Scooby Regular
Support Scoobynet!

Received 53 Likes on 30 Posts
Lightbulb

doesnt sound normal to me, however i have no scooby experience on this.

the solenoid is used to limit the boost and should only operate when the boost limit is reached.

I had the exact same problem on my cossie and it took me 2 months to find the reason.

It was caused in my case by the main earth connection on the ECU board having a dry joint. The problem was intermittent and would show up at different temperatures.

If you want a more detailed explanation let me know.
Old 17 November 1999, 01:46 PM
alanp
Scooby Regular

My 97 also makes this noise and very little can be done to reduce the rattle except wrapping in felt or other material. Isolating it with washers dos'nt help much since the noise is transmitted thru the air.

John

The solenoid operates almost all the time the engine is running. Boost is controlled by the duty cycle of solenoid pulses. If the solenoid only opened the wastegate at full boost the response would be too slow.
Old 17 November 1999, 02:09 PM
johnfelstead
Scooby Regular
Support Scoobynet!

well, thats completely different to a cossie then.