Drivetrain Gearbox, Diffs & Driveshafts etc

Dawes (equivalent) fitted 1yr ago, problems

Search this Thread

Old 08 June 2004, 11:07 PM
Beer Good
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Dawes (equivalent) fitted 1yr ago, problems

Had a manual boost controller fitted last August set conservatively at 15 psi indicated by boost gauge (same psi as indicated before controller fitted).

Car MY99, prodrive exhaust, steel induction kit, no de-cat.

Car is much nore responsive but in 4th & 5th burying the throttle at 3500+ rpm causes horrid hesitation or flat spots. Only occasionally happens in 3rd and never in 1st or 2nd. What could this be caused by & what should I do to fix?

Also I understand you should tweak Dawes according to outside temperature, in this hot(ish) weather should that be 'down' or 'up'?

As you can tell from above, I'm not an expert!

Any sensible advice appreciated!

Cheers
Steve
Old 08 June 2004, 11:15 PM
555ROB
Scooby Regular

I may be very wrong here but i would say turn your boost down slightly in the hotter thinner air conditions, you need good cool air therefore a cooler charge temp in order to run bigger than stock boost on an otherwise std car.

As for the hesitation you may need to give a little more info in order for others te help diagnose your problem.

Hope this helps a little...ROB

Last edited by 555ROB; 08 June 2004 at 11:22 PM.
Old 08 June 2004, 11:35 PM
Beer Good
Scooby Regular

Thanks Rob. Hesitation is as ... boost building 1 sec.. no boost 1/10th second.. what the.. boost building 1 sec.. no boost 1/10th second.. worry.. off throttle.

Not a good description I know but best I can describe it! In an older car I would describe as a 2 cylinder misfire followed by normal running.

Steve
Old 08 June 2004, 11:49 PM
greasemonkey
Scooby Regular

Induction kit of questionable quality is not the best thing to put on your car at the best of times. Virtually nothing to gain and potentially plenty to lose.