Notices
Computer & Technology Related Post here for help and discussion of computing and related technology. Internet, TVs, phones, consoles, computers, tablets and any other gadgets.

C++ Game Develpment

Search this Thread

Old 18 August 2011, 05:00 PM
J4CKO
Scooby Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default C++ Game Develpment

My middle lad is interested in Game Development and has got a work placement with a local games developer, its in January and I want to get him to a point where he understands, and gets the best out of the placement.

They use C++. now I work in IT but I have never done any C++. I know there are game devs on here so was wonderign what tools he would need to get started writing C++. ok, I know he wont be doing game development but just a way of getting the constructs of the language and a feel for it, he has used various level designers but not done coding, he may not end up doing that as there are loads of other jobs but I think its a good start.

Is Visual C++ a good place to start ?
Old 19 August 2011, 10:29 AM
urban
Scooby Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I haven't done any C++ for a very long time.
Get him familar with object oriented programming, because that will potentially be more challenging than the actual language I'd imagine.

Last time I done games programming was back in C64/Amiga days.
To be honest I never really enjoyed it that much
I always tinkered with assembly language and jumped at the job opportunity(as any young buck would)
But when a game takes you approx 2 - 3 months in the same place doing the very same thing day in day out, it soon becomes a bit of a let down
Old 19 August 2011, 10:34 AM
ChefDude
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

If he's going to write games, his c++ is going to have to be guru level.

Visual C++ is an excellent place to start to use the language. game shops might use other dev environments and compilers, but for the moment this is moot.