Notices
Computer & Technology Related Post here for help and discussion of computing and related technology. Internet, TVs, phones, consoles, computers, tablets and any other gadgets.

Setting up a forum

Search this Thread

Old 09 November 2006, 10:43 AM
J4CKO
Scooby Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Setting up a forum

I suggested in a meeting the other week that it may be beneficial for the company to set up an internal project forum to avoid the email chains that do the rounds, miss people out and come to an abrupt halt if someone is off.

So, this idea was met with some enthusiasm and I have been asked various questions about setting one up, like, how long, how much and a lot of other how's.

I have suggested we purchase Vbulletin as its the first one I came across, seems ok and is dead cheap.

I suspect we can find a spare windows server or a server with spare capacity to house the forum, I am an Oracle/Sql Server DBA so the MySql back end should not be a problem (well I hope it isn't, I will look like a right tit if it is !), I am not averse to scripting in Perl or whatever else is required but from what I can see it looks quite self contained.

I am quite happy with web servers and the Apache bit shouldnt be an issue.

I said that once I was provided with the software and a server, I would need about 3 days to get it up and running with a basic configuration, a few categories and a few users.

I am also after any ideas that would add value to this, for example I thought including peoples photographs as an Avatar would be useful in a large organisation, i.e. names to faces.

Would it be possible to open certain categories up via the web to specific suppliers, i.e. open areas relevant to a specific project, i am sure its possible but how secure could this be made ?

So, any pointers on how best to do this, any shortcuts, gotcha's or stuff like that.
Old 09 November 2006, 11:33 AM
RichB
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts