Notices
Computer & Technology Related Post here for help and discussion of computing and related technology. Internet, TVs, phones, consoles, computers, tablets and any other gadgets.

opensource / freeware

Search this Thread

Old 25 March 2006, 11:00 PM
brumdaisy
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default opensource / freeware

Anyone got any experiences they want to share?

Rather than buy MS Office Im tempted to try open source equivilants to stuff like Word, Excel, Access, PowerPoint etc. I'll be using them to run a business so cant afford any problems (well no more than the usual u get with MS).

Im no techie so please dont reply in geek speak but any plain english thoughts welcome....
Old 25 March 2006, 11:19 PM
NotoriousREV
Scooby Regular

If these are for internal use, you probably won't have any problems, but if you're sending documents to customers/suppliers you may have compatability issues.

Most people will cite support as the main reason for using "normal" software, but MS support is expensive and poor whereas Open Source has large communities of users behind it.
Old 26 March 2006, 12:07 AM
brumdaisy
Scooby Regular

Yeah thats another thing Ive got to understand more about

In terms of sending out my documents eg quotes I can get around incompatibility by converting them all into pdfs but if Im using opensource does that mean I wont be able to access documents such as stuff in Word or Powerpoint that are sent to me, or is there a way around it?

I dont particualarly want to be an expert on all this stuff... just wanna save money if i can
Old 26 March 2006, 12:32 AM
TopBanana
Scooby Regular

How much is the cheapest copy of office? You must be able to get an out-of-date copy on ebay for peanuts. I'd say save yourself the headaches and concentrate on the rest of your business!
Old 26 March 2006, 12:45 AM
brumdaisy
Scooby Regular