Notices
Computer & Technology Related Post here for help and discussion of computing and related technology. Internet, TVs, phones, consoles, computers, tablets and any other gadgets.

Need help in finding an IT job - newly graduate

Search this Thread

Old 26 February 2006, 09:23 PM
kilo_4que
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need help in finding an IT job - newly graduate

Right guys, heres the problem I have. I have graduated in Comptuer Science with an industrial placement also. I graduated in 2005 and have since been looking for employment ever since.

Now the funny thing is, I have been to many career development services and they have all said that the applicatiosn im filling in are spot on as well as my CV.

There is only one niggle though. During my A-Levels I was involved in a massive car accident which resulted in me being forced to drop two A-Levels hence ending up with a B in IT. My degree was a very high 2:1 (missed a first by 2%). Now before applying to companies i contact them and ask whether they accep my mitigating circumstances to which most agree. But when i apply, they still reject me without giving me a reason.

I have spoke to various people who have said its not me, its just the industry is crap for graduates at the moment, but how true is this.

I have also been given the advice of contracting but i have no experience, how will i fit in.

Could someone please give me tips on this situation. Btw I am willing to relocate and also like to note I have applied at many companies 80% of which havent even replied back. The rest have just refused without giving feedback.
Old 26 February 2006, 10:28 PM
Pedro_79
Scooby Regular

I think a lot of companies take far too much notice of A-level results, but I guess the problem is the huge amount of 'cloned' graduate applications they get.

Have you been applying for specific positions or trying to get into graduate schemes? or both?

Also, where was your placement?