Notices
Computer & Technology Related Post here for help and discussion of computing and related technology. Internet, TVs, phones, consoles, computers, tablets and any other gadgets.

***any tips on installing a new hard drive***

Search this Thread

Old 06 November 2002, 05:18 PM
mattstant
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Just got a good deal on a Seagate Barracuda 80 gig drive for 80 quid but the thing is i have never done a hard drive before
I've installed loads of cd drives modems and grapics cards but never I've never done a hard drive.
I intend to use as storage for edited home videos (No not the kind youre thinking of)so it will be a slave drive initially.

but thinking again i may want to make it the master as it is a larger more reliable drive than my current one .
Am i right in thinking it is just a case of copying the contents of my bootable drive over then swapping the jumpers over and reconfiguring it through the bios as the first bootable drive ????

Apologies if this is a bit of a how long is a piece of string questions but any advice or web site recomendations would be much appreciated
Old 06 November 2002, 06:16 PM
suba
Scooby Regular

if you know the concept of IDE, then you can fit 4 IDE device in most motherboard. they are primary master (usually your c: drive), primary slave (usually your d: drive), secondary master and slave.

each IDE cable can carry the 1 master and 1 slave. so in your example, the easiest way to connect up a new HDD is to get another IDE cable and connect it up to the secondary master (assuming your primary master and slave are used for HDD and CDROM).

as for copying the OS (and the entire HDD) across to the new HDD, you will need software like Ghost or DriveImage. alternatively, install your new HDD as c: and re-install the OS again.
Old 06 November 2002, 06:20 PM
Attu
Scooby Regular