Notices
Wheels, Tyres & Brakes

Search this Thread

Old 16 November 2001, 04:11 PM
matt b
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Guys ive got a MY99 de-catted and PPP'd. V happy with acceleration but considering upgrading to 17 inch alloys. EVO have always gone on about what a better handling car the RB5 is so it would seem there is a real gain there (assuming pro-drive didn't upgrade/change the suspension settings-did they?). however i dont want to lose any of my hard earned grunt. will the increased rolling radius make a difference you can feel?
cheers
matt
Old 16 November 2001, 05:09 PM
TonyBurns
Scooby Regular

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Wink

Ive got a MY00 with PPP and 17's, its alot better than the standard 16's, but basically depending on what the wheel size is is depending on what tyres you put on it, ie it could be 205/45/17 or 215/40/17.
I think this keeps everything in check but im not an expert

Tony
Old 16 November 2001, 05:44 PM
Nimbus
Scooby Regular

Thumbs up

Try this...

http://www.davmac.co.uk/tyresize.htm
Old 16 November 2001, 07:31 PM
Hoppy
Scooby Regular

Location: Where age and treachery reins over youthful exuberance
Matt, going up in tyre size shouldn't affect the rolling radius as you then fit lower-profile tyres to compensate, eg 215/40x17. It's the lower profile that improves performance, ie lower sidewalls equals less flex equals faster steering response and better feedback. Also a slightly harder ride and more chance of denting a wheel if you hit a pothole of something.

Richard.
Old 16 November 2001, 10:36 PM
matt b
Scooby Regular

cheers for that guys. the puppies ive got lined up are straight from the MY01 i.e. 215/45 zr17 Bridgestone RE011's. Any views on those re handling/ride quality? What are the RE011's like?
Thanks
Old 17 November 2001, 08:37 AM
Hoppy
Scooby Regular