Notices

newbie gearbox blown and timing belt help needed!

Search this Thread

Old 19 May 2011, 11:32 PM
wrx_sti_mudzy
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default newbie gearbox blown and timing belt help needed!

hi im new to owning a scooby and its turning to be as bad a experience as i had with owning a pulsar for 7 years

i have a wrx sti classic impreza v2 its in silver and number plate is m***rcy some of you might seen me in swansea it been freshly imported and had 68,000km which is about 43,000miles and was the cleanest early classic i could find at the time for under 4 grand.

my problem is that the original gearbox started leaking from the seal on the inner shaft and got around the clutch which started slipping so i got a new exedy clutch and second hand box which is now blown in a month only gears i get are 5th and reverse.

so now my plan is to get my original box rebuilt so i want to ask do any of guys know where i can get this done in and around swansea that would be a great help!

secondly do any of you know when the timing belt should be changed on these and is it pretty easy to do on a scooby myself as funds are a bit tight at the moment due to becoming a student again and going to university plus needing a gearbox done i hope someone can help on this thank you all!
Old 20 May 2011, 08:14 AM
duckdo
Scooby Regular

welcome along m8 i seen you last saturday in town picking kids up nice clean mototr u have there the only gearbox guy i now of is john the box in llansamlet hes next to dragon mot centre by the music station on phenix way
Old 20 May 2011, 04:57 PM
wrx_sti_mudzy
Scooby Regular

thanks for info and help mate but i have tried john the box and he aint prepared to touch the impreza box which i dont see why but he says he cant get parts for it i dunno

anywayz i have dropped it down to mike tucker he usually only does auto boxes and hes gonna have a look for me i just hope he can do it .
Old 20 May 2011, 08:11 PM
wrx287
Scooby Regular