Notices

AST Suspension

Search this Thread

Old 04 October 2007, 04:40 PM
Dark
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default AST Suspension

Looking at the AST suspension website but can't figure out the differences between the Sportline1 and Sportline2 packages (except price of course!).

Can anyone explain the difference and confirm what spring rates, ride height and alignment settings I should consider for fast road & the odd trackday.

Car is a MY02 Impreza STI with Whiteline rear ARB & droplinks.

Is there anything else I should consider having fitted at the same time ?

Cheers, Mark
Old 04 October 2007, 06:02 PM
Scooby Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Your best bet is to call Curtis on Powerstation's tel number. He has a direct line and is very customer friendly.
I have some detailed experience of both systems on the road and track.

The simple (cheapest) option can be very effective and easy to set-up with minimum experience. You could try spring rates of 50/40 front/rear.

You would be wise to have some adjustable top mounts fitted to the front units and camber bolts to the rear units to allow optimum alignment.

The far more expensive system has 3 independent adjustments for damping over the simpler single adjustment.

This takes some time to get set right. Same springs etc but they are great for serious track driving, but a bit OTT for road only. Look sexy and are very good when sorted.

Hope this helps, but call Curtis also.

As to alignment, this is all down to your chosen application/use, and is where Curtis is ace.

Tell him '911' sent you!
Old 04 October 2007, 06:14 PM
Dark
Scooby Regular

Thanks !

I think you're referring to the competition units which I agree are OTT for my need. However the website shows a Sportline 2 package which is few hundred quid more than the standard units.

AST Suspension

Is it worth looking at anti lift kits in addition to the adjustable top mounts and camber bolts?

Mark
Old 04 October 2007, 07:54 PM