Notices

Is bumpsteer removal for big boys only?

Search this Thread

Old 25 April 2001, 06:56 PM
kav
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question

DavidRB posted an excellent thread back in February about bumpsteer removal. I had a question for him now that he's run the car for a couple of months but I can't get his e-mail address so I'll throw the question over to all those that have had the mod done as well.

Have you noticed an increase in tyre wear? (not including wear due to the enthusiatic driving style that bumpsteer removal encourages!)

Another thing I'd like to know - I'm not an expert in a Scoob by any means and I don't want to change the car's generally forgiving nature. Now that you've had a chance to drive a modified car for a while, what do you reckon? Is it the sort of set-up likely to bite your a**e if you get it wrong?

Cheers
Kav

Old 26 April 2001, 08:15 AM
Gary Foster
Scooby Regular

Cool

Answers

1) No (I'm on 4 months and 11K miles with it now)
2) Err, don't know. Certainly don't get as much of that 'Slow down your going to fast' understeer but I wouldn't say I really slide it around on the public highway. I personally prefer all 4 Wheels to lose traction rather than just the fronts, so I prefer it.

That said I did spin in the wet at Goodwood but that was driver incompetence.

Gary
Old 28 April 2001, 09:35 AM
Trout
Scooby Regular

Bumpsteer for nearly a year now - I'm a crap driver, but I ain't spun on track or lost it on the road - even when I try and drive fast!

Tyre wear is less as you need less neg camber and you still get more front-end bite with great turn-in.

R
Old 28 April 2001, 10:48 AM
RobScreene
Scooby Regular

Exclamation

I recently took a concealed roundabout on an A road too faster than I would have knowing how sharp the corner was.

Bumpstyeer/Proxies T1-S with about 650 miles under them in the dry and the slide was beautifully banaced front and rear and easily controlled.