Buying advice?

Search this Thread

Old 16 September 2013, 11:09 AM
rish13
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Buying advice?

Hello fellas,

I am new to the forum and the world of Scooby's...actually I haven't even got one yet

I've owned a 200SX S13 for the past 6 years and sold her three weeks ago as I want to venture into the world of 4WD.

I'm in no rush to buy atm which I see as an opportunity to increase my funds. Ideally, I am looking for a classic, type R or RA but no older than a 1999. My budget will be between £4.5 - £6k depending on what comes along.

I know one of the main things to look out for when buying a classic is that it's lump has been rebuilt/forged. However, my main question is, are there any other specific things to look out for when buying (apart from the obvious/generic)?

P.S. Apologies if there is a separate secion/thread on this topic already - but as mentioned, I'm a noob!
Old 16 September 2013, 11:42 AM
d4vidh
Scooby Regular

If you are looking at classics, watch out for rusty arches.
Old 16 September 2013, 12:49 PM
ace1981
Scooby Regular

Originally Posted by rish13
Hello fellas,

I know one of the main things to look out for when buying a classic is that it's lump has been rebuilt/forged. However, my main question is, are there any other specific things to look out for when buying (apart from the obvious/generic)?
Firstly, welcome aboard.

I'm sure someone will come along shortly to correct me if necessary, but I was never advised to ensure that the lump in a classic had been rebuilt or forged. If the mileage is well documented and there is plenty of service history, that should serve as enough evidence to support a well looked after machine.

If it helps, I bought my classic in June of last year, a 2000 UK turbo and it hasn't missed a trick since - no rebuild, no forged items.