Why is my BHP so low?

Search this Thread

Old 24 March 2013, 11:51 PM
R6_Don
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Why is my BHP so low?

Hi all

I'm quite new to imprezas so have a lot of un answered questions.

One main question I do have is why is the BHP so low? My car is a 2002 Bugeye WRX AWD UK. If my research is correct it says the standard BHP is 215. Is that correct? And if so why? Can I still expect to get large BHP gains from full decat system, Walbro, STI TMIC, and a remap? Not aiming for over 300 but would like to get close to that number.

Cheers Don
Old 24 March 2013, 11:52 PM
tubbytommy
BANNED

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

thats right for the standard car the mods you listed above shoudl give you around 270ish
Old 24 March 2013, 11:56 PM
R6_Don
Scooby Regular

That's ok then, I was unsure if the web page I looked was wrong. Need to start saving for some bits I guess then. Is it a bad idea to try and increase the BHP on a engine with high miles?
Old 24 March 2013, 11:58 PM
ScoobyDoo69
Scooby Senior

Received 3 Likes on 1 Post

Providing it has been looked after well there shouldn't be any issues with some simple exhaust mods and a nice safe map tweak.
Old 25 March 2013, 12:38 AM
MattyB1983
Scooby Regular

Received 46 Likes on 30 Posts

Depends what you mean by high miles.
Old 25 March 2013, 01:03 AM
R6_Don
Scooby Regular

Old 25 March 2013, 10:07 AM
MattyB1983
Scooby Regular

Originally Posted by R6_Don
That's not high miles fella.
Get a full de-cat, panel filter, 255HRC fuel pump, 7B plugs, STI up pipe, STI top mount and a map.
Will transform the car, will make somewhere between 270 and 290.

Last edited by MattyB1983; 25 March 2013 at 10:09 AM.
Old 25 March 2013, 01:50 PM
R6_Don
Scooby Regular

perfect, thats pretty much what i have planned for the car, now to start looking for bits and hoarding them in the garage so i can fit them all in one go then get it mapped
Old 25 March 2013, 02:23 PM
chopperman
Scooby Regular