Hello!! I'm new!

Search this Thread

Old 22 July 2011, 11:24 PM
RabRS
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Hello!! I'm new!

Hello!
I'm Rab, I'm an engineer from the deepest most inbred part of Argyll in Scotland. I've been a Ford person since birth basically, but as there's nothing in my price range that interests me any more, I've had to start looking elsewhere for my next car. I'm sure all you Passionford lot who lurk about here will recognise me now....
I've been out of the car game for 3 years, as my wife started a pregnancy epidemic! I now have 2 kids and it's just chaos... But a recent redundancy and new job have changed everything. I have sold my Toyota Avensis 1.8 Colour Collection (I have no idea why they called it that, it's metallic beige) which I never drove anyways, the wife used it exclusively, and bought her a car of her own! So, I now have budget for something of my own.

I've spent the last week or 2 looking at Evolutions, mainly 5's and 6's while I wait for my money to arrive from wherever the MOD are screwing up the paperwork, but I'm put off by AYC issues, and stories of rods flying through blocks, and 'crankwalk' which I am convinced should be called crankshaft end float and not some dumbed down yank word... Anyways, waffling here. I have been eyeing up wagons. I am really quite fond of the shape of them, plus all that SPACE... It's just what I need with wifey and her obsession with taking every single possesion that we own on even the shortest of journeys... However, the bug/blobeye Wagons don't get my pulse up, and a hawkeye is way out my price range. The classic however, is my favourite shape. Downside to this, classics are getting on a bit.... And the Turbo 2000's don't seem to have the greatest power figures.