Prodrive Exhaust Question

Search this Thread

Old 10 March 2011, 11:30 PM
LoftyMan
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Prodrive Exhaust Question

Hi guys,

I have been looking through the forums for an answer to my question but have not come up any the wiser. The Blobeye Wrx STi I am looking to pick-up tomorrow has a full Prodrive kit fitted etc.

What I am trying to understand is, how many 'cats' are in the prodrive exhaust system?

I have listened to it idling from behind the car and sat inside. What im looking for is that lovely burble to just be louder while driving in the lower revs and idling.

I am a complete novice at this and I do hold my hand up to say sorry for these questions but I hope I can learn now and not have to keep asking silly questions.

Am I right in saying the prodrive exhaust system consists of the downpipe, centre pipe, backbox and tailpipe? Can I simply replace the tailpipe with a larger 3 inch to get the louder burble?

Any help as always is appreciated.
Old 10 March 2011, 11:33 PM
Beastie
Scooby Regular

Received 17 Likes on 10 Posts

You can replace the centre section with a straight through pipe. Then you get much better burble. Done this on both my 99ppp and 2006sti ppp with good effect. :

Believe on your car only down pipe cat left.
Old 10 March 2011, 11:40 PM
LoftyMan
Scooby Regular

Originally Posted by Beastie
You can replace the centre section with a straight through pipe. Then you get much better burble. Done this on both my 99ppp and 2006sti ppp with good effect. :

Believe on your car only down pipe cat left.
Excuse my ignorance but the centre section is behind the backbox? How do I replace it with a through pipe? Is this a garage job? What sort of cost?

Thanks
Old 11 March 2011, 06:37 AM
cster
Scooby Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

If I were you, I would stick with what you have until you get used to your new car.