Sponsored by:

Please help before I buy

Search this Thread

Old 04 July 2010, 04:55 PM
the hamster
BANNED

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Please help before I buy

Ok, i know these questions get asked a million times but i've looked around and cant find a FAQ or sticky.

I've just sold my car and want an impreza, my budget isnt great so i'm looking at early WRX's or later spec UK2000's.

I'm starting to get a bit concerned by all the cars i've read with rebuilds or replacement engines, is this common? I dont want to spend out on a car then get hit with a whopping bill.

What are the signs of needing a rebuild? i'm new to these, thought they were pretty bulletproof but thats clearly not the case.

Finally, whats the difference between an import WRX and UK2000 in terms of power and where it gets it? can bits from a WRX be used to upgrade a uk2000?

Please please help as i've got the ££, got insurance quotes but also got nerves about buying a lemon.

Any help is appreciated.

PS, anyone on here live near me that I could chat with, i'm in Pork pie land, Melton Mowbray, Leicestershire.
Old 04 July 2010, 06:43 PM
scoobygaz1
Scooby Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Hi firstly most bottom ends give away on mostly tuned cars on the uk classic mine went at 111.000 miles after i put on a vf35 turbo and ran at 300bhp it was a risk i knew, now fully forged .if you keep the classic to a standard 215 with full service history you should have no problem .But fsh is a must
Old 04 July 2010, 07:00 PM
amego
Scooby Regular

i ran a uk classic from 40000 to 115000 miles with with mods with no problems just make sure its got fsh and dont penny pinch
Old 04 July 2010, 07:08 PM
Rob Day
Scooby Regular

Received 13 Likes on 11 Posts

What is your budget?
Old 04 July 2010, 08:57 PM
the hamster
BANNED

2k budget tops so I know I wont get much for my money but i'd like to mod as i've done with all my other cars.