ScoobyNet General General Subaru Discussion

WRX vs STi

Search this Thread

Old 27 April 2009, 10:54 PM
upiker2005
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default WRX vs STi

Hi, forgive me my tresspass by steaming straight in with a question but I'm new to the Subarus and I'm on the freshold of buying one in the next day or so. I previously owned an Audi TT (mapped) that was a very nice drive but fancy the change so I'm currently in the market. I've been pleasantly surprised at the relatively low cost af the Imprezas and particularly like the Wagons so that's the way I'm heading. The cars I'm looking at are 97 (WRX),98 and 99 STi imports and all seemingly have low miles (the WRX with proof). Anyways, bottom line is am I gona regret not going straight in on the STi if I get the WRX, by which I mean is there a particularly noticeable power difference?
The 97 WRX is incidentally immaculate and all are priced between 5 and 6 K.
Once again sorry for my first post being a question but any advice would be well received.

Dave.
Old 28 April 2009, 07:56 AM
Boyakasha
Scooby Regular

97 WRX for 5-6k is way too much.

If you're looking for out and out performance you will want an RA, otherwise stick with either a WRX STi Type R or the WRX STi.

For £5k you can also get an 02/03 Newage WRX or £6-7k will get you a 02/03 WRX STi
Old 28 April 2009, 08:32 AM
upiker2005
Scooby Regular

Many thanks for reply. Maybe I'll take a little longer over looking?

(Thanks again face)
Old 28 April 2009, 08:57 AM
[-(o)-]
Scooby Regular

My 99 (v5) STi Wagon cost £5k a year and a half ago, so as above £5-6k is way too much. Go with STi as the cost isn't much more and you get the extras that you'll otherwise end up buying anyway.