Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Filling up with too much oil.

Search this Thread

Old 22 February 2002, 07:11 AM
Nezz10
Scooby Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Just had an RAC inspection on the scooby (MY00) i am thinking of buying and in the report it says that the oil is right up to the top when it should be at the three quaters level.

I have heard and read some threads about this causing problems with some sensors.

Can anybody shed some light on the subject and set my mind at rest.

Neil.
Old 22 February 2002, 08:36 AM
SWRTWannabe
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I had a feeling I had heard somewhere that too much oil can actually damage the engine (the head gasket rang a bell) so had a quick search on the internet to make sure I wasn't going to make a complete prat of myself

General opinion is that too much oil can damage the engine. One explanation was that too much oil will get in the workings more and "froth" reducing it's lubricant properties.

I'm not a mechanic (the most technical thing I do to my Scoob is top up the washer bottle) but it looks like too much oil is a bit of a no no.
Old 22 February 2002, 08:41 AM
chiark
Scooby Regular

Too much oil can mean that it gets sucked into the turbo control gubbins thingy pipework (that's the technical name) and can cause problems such as "overboosting", where the engine management abruptly shuts off the turbo when giving it full welly.

I think the inspection bloke is quite possibly covering his behind or trying to find something wrong with the car to prove that they've been worth the money you spent on them.

I can't think of any car that would be damaged by filling up with oil to the recommended fill level. This 3/4 full from Subaru is a workaround for the overboost problem. Overfilling beyond that maximum level (as opposed to 3/4 level) is definitely a nono as it can cause more problems than having too little oil!

If I'm wrong, please could someone with more mechanical clue correct me!!!!