Sponsored by:

I'm new to this subaru lark

Search this Thread

Old 16 December 2008, 02:29 PM
Ste333
Scooby Regular

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default I'm new to this subaru lark

Hi, im interested in getting a subaru wagon. Ive always had a bit of a softspot for the wagons and ive currently got a Nissan 200sx S14a. But since i started on a bit of a mission to turn my Nissan into a fast road/track weapon, ive realised that i can chuck a lot of money at the Nissan but it isnt going to grip as well in the corners or from a standstill as a 4wd rally derived car. And since ive always had a thing for quick estates, well there you go.... Dont get me wrong, looking out of your side windows to steer around corners is fun (on track obviously) but its time for a change.

Heres my nissan:

Its running approx 270bhp and i planned to take it onto 350-400ish. So whatever wagon i buy is going to have to be something special. I need a bit of advice though really.

Ideally id like an STI to have a good base to build on but people keep telling me horror stories about imports and history. Also a friend who likes his scoobys tells me that each model of impreza has the bottom end from the later model? is that true? so in theory a 99' for example would have the bottom end from a bug eye?

Also my insurers seem to be taking the mick....they want £3500 fully comp for a standard WRX UK wagon. Im 22, 4 years NCB, 3 points. So can anyone recommend a good company? My Nissan is currently fully comp all mods declared and i pay approx £1k.

Also wagons dont seem to be in abbundance for sale....

Thanks guys.

Steve.
Old 16 December 2008, 03:16 PM
myblackwrx
Scooby Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Insurance speak to Moley WRX at Keith Michaels (or have a look for him in the insurance section of the forum).
there is also A plan but it has to be the Thatcham branch not a high street one.