Sponsored by:

Help required over waranty Scrobble!

Search this Thread

Old 24 January 2001, 05:37 PM
DIGGY
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy

Well as some of you already know JimJam(my scoob)has been off the road and has been diagnosed to have piston slap, not a problem as I have a warranty, or so I thought.......

Warranty is with a third party(I will not name them yet!!!!)which was included when I brought the car, Now this company will not pay to have the car repaired because get this...........Replacing the piston(the latest Subaru cure for piston slap.....will probably be p38 soon!!!!!!)is considered a modification!!!!!!!!!!!!! and so will not pay out.

Any advice as what to do next would really be appreciated as I have no experience of this sort of thing.....

On the plus side I will now be able to go to Oulton as JimJam will not be at the garage having a makeover.....Complete with STi/K&N induction kit fitted, which is sat in the lounge waiting to go on.

Mark
Old 24 January 2001, 05:40 PM
RussP
Scooby Regular

Oh Go On Mark.... Which warranty Company is refusing to pay out now?

Russ
Old 24 January 2001, 05:47 PM
DrEvil
Scooby Regular

Lightbulb

Surely this is a 'direct replacement part due to bad design of original component' , set a solicitor onto them.. that should do it.. or get Subaru UK to explain it to them in small words...

rgds, Alex
Old 24 January 2001, 05:50 PM
DrEvil
Scooby Regular

Lightbulb

PS Write to the Ombudsman for (insurers?)warranties managment..
Old 24 January 2001, 05:59 PM
banshi
Scooby Regular

Suggest you contact Subaru, and get them to confirm in writing that this is THE recommended "repair" and not a modification.

If poss get this supported by the local garage, then forward to underwriters with a v. strongly worded letter. To which you may choose to add that there is a possibility continued use in this condition could result in major mechanical failure and considerably increased cost to them.