Sponsored by:

Advice Please

Search this Thread

Old 13 January 2002, 09:38 PM
towser
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy

Hi - first time post. Been reading for over a year now prior to buying a MY99 and ever since - one of the best boards on the net for info and laughs. Shame my first post isn't in a more upbeat mood. Just been informed by Northern Constabulary ( Highland Region ) that I was clocked at 94 on the A9 - which is a 60. No complaints, it's a fair cop as they say. Just looking for some sort of idea of the size of the book that'll be thrown at me? Hefty fine and a few points or what....? Just trying to avoid any nasty surprises. Any info or advice is gratefully received.

Cheers Folks,

Towser.
Old 13 January 2002, 10:11 PM
simes
Scooby Regular

Unhappy

I'm not an expert but you might be looking at ban, so think about getting a decent solicitor. There is one who been mentioned here but I can't remember his name and search is down, maybe someone else can help.

Might be worth reposting with a title mentioning "caught speeding".

In the meantime have a look here, loads of more authoritative info than I can give you:

http://www.speed-trap.co.uk

Cheers

Simon
Old 13 January 2002, 10:19 PM
tiggers
Scooby Regular

Unhappy

Yep I agree with Simes. Definitely get a good solicitor as 50% over the speed limit plus is not going to be looked on kindly. If it's any sort of guidance at all I originally got 8 points a serious fine for 97 on a clear empty motorway in good weather conditions, but managed to defend myself on appeal and get it down to 5 points and £300. If I'd been over 100 I'd have had a solicitor with me.

So get a good solicitor and pray the court is in a good mood. Sorry I can't be more upbeat than that.

Good luck,

tiggers