Sponsored by:

To buy or not to buy

Search this Thread

Old 10 January 2007, 04:48 PM
CarCrazy81
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default To buy or not to buy

Alright guys, I'm looking for general advice about Subaru's basically. I'm after an older shape (maybe 93-95) Scooby but I'm new to Subaru's & this forum. In love with the shape, speed & sound of this motor & now have enough cash to get one. However, everyone I to speak to (none of whom own one themselves) seem to have horror stories of a friend of a friend who spent so much money on theirs when it went wrong. I've got a peugeot 406 coupe3.0v6 which isn't cheap to run or service but I'm sure a Subaru will be more reliable (???) even ten years old. I've read about specs & all that but I'd rather have good, honest opinions from people who drive them themselves. Any help with known faults, reliability issues, things I need to check when browsing for one or general views about the motor would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.
Adam
Old 10 January 2007, 04:59 PM
EmEm
Scooby Regular

TBH...its your money you buy what YOU want!!

I admitt, before getting mine, I wouldn't touch them with a barge pole, but then after speaking to a Jap dealer about possibly getting an Evo, he suggested a Scooby....I looked at him in horror, and all he said was "Why do you think they are so popular..?" Good point!!

Never looked back since I got mine!!!
Old 10 January 2007, 05:03 PM
Jamescsti
Scooby Regular

My advise would be do a lot of research on any potential car, you could do a lot worse than start with the classifieds on here.

There are some good ones around that are that age but there will be a lot of dogs too. they will all be jap imports at this age, something to be aware of.
Try to by from an enthusiast on here with a good history
Old 10 January 2007, 05:03 PM
kingofturds
Scooby Regular
Support Scoobynet!

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts