Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

MY04 Handling In the Wet. . :-) Help!

Search this Thread

Old 20 November 2006, 03:42 PM
S2000 Al
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default MY04 Handling In the Wet. . :-) Help!

Hey All,
I am a newbie to the forum who is about one step away from buying a 2004 STI PPP. I currently run a Honda S2000 but have had two scoobies a P1 and then later a WRX Wagon . Having run the honda for 18months or so i am looking to get back to the scoobies as much as anything for the 'All weather' ability i remember them having. . . and of course the performance.

However i have read a few articles today that cause me a little concern as they say the MY04 (correct me if i am wrong) can be tricky in the wet!!

Is this really true?

Is there anything else i should be aware of when looking at one of these?

Any help would be much appreciated. . . so thanks in adavance!

Thanks
Newbie Al!
Old 20 November 2006, 03:51 PM
GazTheHat
Scooby Regular

Any car can be tricky in the wet, just depends on application.

I find my STi to have better handling than my classic did. No wet problems, but then i back off anyway.
Old 20 November 2006, 03:53 PM
MattW
Scooby Regular

Links to articles?

Never had a problem with my 03 or 05 cars, would have thought different tyre combos may be more suitable, for example some complain that Toyos are not so good in the wet, however nothing inherent in the car setup.

PS - an 04 car is the same setup as an 03 car unless it is a WR1 in which case it is closer to an 05.
Old 20 November 2006, 04:25 PM
S2000 Al
Scooby Newbie

Here is the link to one of the articles by Evo magazine. . . they also quote it as being 'Edgy in the wet'.

Subaru Impreza STi PPP | evo Car Reviews | Car Reviews | evo

I understand any car can be tricky in the wet, especially the honda i was just interested in how tricky the STI was and other peoples views from their ownership.

Thanks Again!
Old 20 November 2006, 04:38 PM
Mangel
Scooby Regular