Notices
ScoobyNet General General Subaru Discussion

How long should professional colour coding last?

Search this Thread

Old 17 September 2005, 01:00 PM
New_scooby_04

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Red face How long should professional colour coding last?

Hi All,

My colour coding has started to flake away in places after only a year It was done professionally. The car is lightly used, no track days or silly wheel-spinning stunts and is immaculately cared for with Autoglym products.

I like the company I'm dealing with very much and want to make sure I'm not being unreasonable in complaining that I'd expect it to last longer.I'm not an expert on paintwork.

Should colour colding wear as well as the paint on the rest of the car or am I being unreasonable?

Regards,

NS04

P.S. Please don't ask me to name the company. I've not intention of bitching about them on here before 1) I've ascertained that I have good grounds for a complaint and 2) they've had a chance to respond properly.

Last edited by New_scooby_04; 17 September 2005 at 01:03 PM.
Old 17 September 2005, 01:10 PM
scooby jay
Scooby Regular

Hello your paint should,nt be flacking of at all if it was done properly, to colourcode plastics properly plastic primer should have been used this type of primer bonds the colour coat to the panel thus ensuring a good bond this allows the paint to flex with out flaking off, ive painted many many diffrent plastic materials over the years using this process and haven,t had any problems, hope this helps
Originally Posted by New_scooby_04
Hi All,

My colour coding has started to flake away in places after only a year It was done professionally. The car is lightly used, no track days or silly wheel-spinning stunts and is immaculately cared for with Autoglym products.

I like the company I'm dealing with very much and want to make sure I'm not being unreasonable in complaining that I'd expect it to last longer.I'm not an expert on paintwork.