Sponsored by:

write off or cash?

Search this Thread

Old 13 June 2005, 05:23 PM
Ritch96
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default write off or cash?

Mods - please give this a few hours here cause i need an answer and won't get exposure in "insurance."

I'll be brief, old dear scraped her motor down the side of my old diesel run around sierra at the weekend whilst it was parked. Bodyshops are quoting around £900 to repair it, though one said he could do it for £450 with s/h parts but not through insurance. All said they thought car would be written off.

So which option is gonna be best for me do you think? (I have no experience with this kinda thing at all.)

1, Ask her for the £450 cash. Keep the car.
2, Claim through her insurance and try to keep the car (its only cosmetic damage!) + Payout
3, Claim through her insurance and let em take the car and get another runaround? (It's done 115k, the heater doesn't work and it has no PAS!)

Is this possible to do? I'm phoning her tonight with result of quotations so what should i do? Oh and she is a right old bag and never even said she did it. I had to go over road and confront her, only after i said i had photos of damage to her car and mine did she bloody admit it!

Cheers
Ritchie.
Old 13 June 2005, 05:32 PM
RIGPIG
Scooby Regular

Has to be No 3 ..!
Old 13 June 2005, 05:34 PM
richs2891
Scooby Regular

As she is been an old bag, calculate which is going to cost her pocket the most - the hike in her insurance due to a claim or the £450 cash ? Leaning toward the cash (+ your extra ~ £100) option but I image she will go for the insurance !

Richard
Old 13 June 2005, 05:39 PM
Ritch96
Scooby Regular

She is wanting to avoid the insurance cause she is bloody old and i think she's worried that they won't insure her if she makes a claim. Though I am sure she has no idea how much damage she did. She really shouldn't be on the road. If they were to write the car off what sort of figure am i looking at?

Ritchie.