Sponsored by:

Sticky subject???

Search this Thread

Old 01 May 2004, 11:09 PM
NE-Matt
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Replicas??

Hi, another newbie here so first off "Hi" to you all!!

Before you ask I don't own or drive a scoob, being only 22 this year the WRX is going to have to wait a year or 10!! I've been a fan of the Impreza for years now (since watching colin mcrae win the wrc back in the day), I've even got my fiance to promise I can get a wrx on my 30th birthday. But anyways onto the "sticky subject", I can't affoard to buy or run the impreza i'd love to own one day however I was thinking the other day "why do i love the impreza so much??", the answers I came up with were 1) the look of the car 2) the sound of the car. This got me thinking, what about a wrx replica??

I've looked into prices (both purchase and insurance) for a mid '90's 1.6 GL 2wd and they are within what I could manage. The plan then would be to first source the key wrx parts (bumpers,skirts,bonnet,rear wing,wheels) and basically make the GL look like a wrx. What are your views on this??

Personally I've never been a fan of "look a like" cars but I'd never badge the car what it isn't, i'd leave it unbadged as to the true car fan they will know it's not a real one!!

just basically what I'm asking is what are peoples views on replicas?? Does anyone own one?? Also what is the standard impreza like compared to the higher end models?? Do they share the same basic shell?? Is it worth paying extra for the awd over the 2wd model??

Basically I'm looking at finding an affoardable way for a young un like meself to get into, in my opinion, one of the best looking cars out there!!

Cheers!

Matt

MSN: learn_to_hate_me@hotmail.com

Last edited by NE-Matt; 01 May 2004 at 11:37 PM. Reason: title was a bit confusing!!
Old 01 May 2004, 11:37 PM
sti555
Scooby Regular