Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Running the gauntlet in France....

Search this Thread

Old 19 April 2004, 03:59 PM
2000TLondon
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Running the gauntlet in France....

I've no experience of driving in France, but assume plenty of people have, so any general tips, please? I'm off next week for few days, read a thread that said the french police aren't particulalry friendly.

What are the laws and consequences of bending them?

Is your licence safe over there at the moment, heard they were coming to an arrangement with UK for points system.....

Are the fines extortionate? Not that I intend to go hell for leather,(necessarily) but just like to know all my options and consequences!

Cheers!
Old 19 April 2004, 04:05 PM
douglasb
Scooby Regular

Fines will be cash, on the spot. Radar detectors are a huge "no-no".

Speed limits are different (lower) when it is raining.
Old 19 April 2004, 04:09 PM
Shropshire-Guy
Scooby Regular

Speedlimit on Motorway is 130 kms an hr. One thing i will tell you, if it rains, the limit instantly reduces to 90 km i think , but don,t quote me on that.But i do know they take a very serious view on speeding in the wet. We went last year ( first time like you). Didn,t have a problem at all im pleased to say. Roads are far better then over here and less hassle from other motorists.

O make sure you stay on the right side of the road to, unlike i did first thing in the morning , after staying in Hotel for the night. Just jumped into car and ****, about 400 yds on wrong side. Good job it was a quite road . lol
Old 19 April 2004, 04:11 PM
geldy
Scooby Regular

so keep loads of cash on you if you intend to speed - because until you have been to an atm to get some your car stays where it is - its poetic justice in a way
Old 19 April 2004, 04:15 PM
MadMark
Scooby Regular

I just did 100mph everywhere (like home) and nobody batted an eyelid ........
Old 19 April 2004, 04:15 PM
WR1
Scooby Regular