Sponsored by:

Oil use. How much is too much?

Search this Thread

Old 15 February 2004, 11:40 AM
Stig2
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Oil use. How much is too much?

Hi, I'm a newbie, but have been looking in here for months. I have a MY03 wagon.
It was registered oct 03, and has just clocked 3200miles. During the running in period, it never used any oil and performed faultlessly. The oil was changed at 1100 miles, and until 2 weeks ago, still hadn't used any. I gave up checking the oil weekly at christmas, and now do it fortnightly. Horror of horrors, this morning I checked and the oil level is now on the minimum! It has only taken around 500 miles to go from full, to minimum, is this bad? When I start the car, normally it is dark. Today I started it in the daylight, and there was a big plume of blue oil smoke, that lasted for 30 secs or so, then no noticeable smoke at all. Is this normal? I have had a variety of cars, and never experienced this ever. This is my first new car to date, and to be honest didn't expect this! I don't abuse the car until it is warm, and always let the car idle before I shut down. It has synthetic oil in it, but I do not know what grade. I will be contacting the dealer tomorrow, but does anyone have any advice?
Thanks Daz.
Old 15 February 2004, 12:48 PM
rav4640
Scooby Regular

i have a 03 sti, and its never used oil from day one, its at 9500 mls now,but i have heard on here that some do, but not the blue smoke, sooner you get it looked at the better i think.
Old 15 February 2004, 01:08 PM
JohnD
Scooby Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Angry