Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

On a serious note........

Search this Thread

Old 07 October 2001, 06:01 PM
W9GTR
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Ok....Ok I know i'm not famed for inteligent thought provoking posts so I won't dissapoint u
I need to change me tyres.
I had decided upon S-02 after reading favourable reports about them on Scoobynet....alas they are no more Tyres of Northampton have given me four possibilities to look at (but I have no experience of them and can't even remember some of their names). I know the S-03's were in there plus a set of Yokohama something or others. Toyo proxis and Michelin cup I think were the other two (but not sure) can anyone recommend a tyre that is soft compound, like S-02's, but more progressive in loss of grip department. My Potenza RE040 were (before I shagged 'em) very grippy but went from lots of grip to sod all grip very suddenly.
Any opinions would be most welcome including Simon D B
Cheers
Steve
Old 07 October 2001, 07:15 PM
Robertio
Scooby Regular

Lightbulb

My experience is on 17" but the S03s are not a patch on the Toyos, not had S02s so can't say how they compare.
Toyos are very soft, and progressive, grip levels aren't that high, well not until the edges are slick, then lots of dry weather grip, and sliding in the wet
Old 07 October 2001, 08:21 PM
chrisp
Scooby Regular

Cool

I run 18" Toyo T1-S proxes I have done about 500 miles on them and I think they are superb. I think you will find SDB recommends Toyos due to the progressive break away feel. After I had the geometry done the turn in and grip is impressive. I have never run anything other than 16" RE010 which are not the best and 17" Pirelli p-zeros which were pretty good but not really a patch on the Toyos.

cheers

chrisp
Old 07 October 2001, 08:28 PM
RichiW
Scooby Regular

Did`nt someone do a web page a while back reguarding different tires and how they performed?
Old 07 October 2001, 08:33 PM
Doogsy
Scooby Regular

Steve