Sponsored by:

Impreza - more reputation than reality?

Search this Thread

Old 27 June 2001, 08:54 PM
onecarefulowner
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy

I'm a scoobie newbie in every sense - I've just bought an MY01 WRX but its my first out of the box car and first real performance motor (for the first ten years of my life as a driver I've suffered with a litany of decrepit motorised prams for transport). So, I saved up for years and bought the latest, newest, fastest version of the car I've always wanted and settled down to a life of looking forward to roundabouts and never seeing the inside of a garage again.

Now the roundabouts thing, this does without doubt make it all worthwile. The silver thing is certainly an enormous grin machine and I've got loads yet to learn about it. It doesn't seem right though that I've had loads of grief from this brand new car - things such as the CD player swiftly refusing to play CDs, the frontside panel creasing weirdly outwards against the wheelarch and the r/cl failing intermittently after hard driving. I can't believe this is happening in a Subaru!

But most dubious of all is the recently developed noise from the two bits of metal that clearly don't get on with each other and decide to argue it out loudly under whichever wheel is under load when approaching full lock. The dealer had to strip the suspension down completely and pack in unearthly amounts of grease when refitting it to quieten it down. (not sure how happy I am with this solution...)

I'm starting to feel a bit gutted but would clearly feel a whole lot better if I knew that someone else out there has been similarly cursed by bugs in the new Impreza.(how do you put the smiley faces in?)

Seriously though, is this what I have to swallow to taste the performance or have I just been sold a dud?

1CO
Old 27 June 2001, 09:00 PM
chrisp
Scooby Regular

Lightbulb