Sponsored by:

Disconnecting crank sensor

Search this Thread

Old 13 June 2021, 11:54 AM
IanF
Scooby Regular

Received 5 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Disconnecting crank sensor

Can anyone on advise on how to disconnect the crank sensor on a MY00 UK Turbo 2000 please? Is it as simple as pulling out the connector? Are there any traps I should avoid, are they particularly fragile etc?

I’m starting the car for first time in a number of years and just want to be careful.

Complete mechanical novice here.

Thanks
IanF
Old 13 June 2021, 11:55 AM
1509joe
Scooby Regular

Received 278 Likes on 248 Posts

Squeeze clip pull off
Old 13 June 2021, 12:24 PM
IanF
Scooby Regular

Great, thanks, as easy as that. Hopefully I should be able to manage that without breaking anything!
Thanks for replying
IanF
Old 13 June 2021, 01:17 PM
johno01
Scooby Regular

Received 670 Likes on 519 Posts

You’ve been a member on here mate for a very long time....👍
Old 13 June 2021, 01:18 PM
johno01
Scooby Regular

Is it the same car you had in 1998?
Old 13 June 2021, 01:42 PM
IanF
Scooby Regular

Yes I’ve been around for a while. I actually bought my first Impreza in August 1996, a red Turbo, before the craze all kicked off. No waiting list, and got £1,000 off list price. I’d drive it and go for weeks without seeing another one on the road. Kept it for two years and sold it for only £500 less than I bought it for. For those that remember, these cars had possibly the worst interior you could come across, but I would dearly love to buy a pre-MY97 facelift car to buy which was original. The awfulness of the interior is now what gives them their beauty and originality now.

(That interior coupled with the light green metallic colour they did on the MY94, they did look awful! The colour was very rare for I guess obvious reasons!)

In Jan 1999, bought another, no discounts, 6 month waiting list. Sold that then moved to Evos, with a blue GSR and then a red Makinen.