ScoobyNet.com - Subaru Enthusiast Forum

ScoobyNet.com - Subaru Enthusiast Forum (https://www.scoobynet.com/)
-   ScoobyNet General (https://www.scoobynet.com/scoobynet-general-1/)
-   -   Disconnecting crank sensor (https://www.scoobynet.com/scoobynet-general-1/1064790-disconnecting-crank-sensor.html)

IanF 13 June 2021 11:54 AM

Disconnecting crank sensor

Can anyone on advise on how to disconnect the crank sensor on a MY00 UK Turbo 2000 please? Is it as simple as pulling out the connector? Are there any traps I should avoid, are they particularly fragile etc?

I’m starting the car for first time in a number of years and just want to be careful.

Complete mechanical novice here.

Thanks
IanF

1509joe 13 June 2021 11:55 AM

Squeeze clip pull off :thumb:

IanF 13 June 2021 12:24 PM

Great, thanks, as easy as that. Hopefully I should be able to manage that without breaking anything!
Thanks for replying
IanF

johno01 13 June 2021 01:17 PM

You’ve been a member on here mate for a very long time....👍

johno01 13 June 2021 01:18 PM

Is it the same car you had in 1998?

IanF 13 June 2021 01:42 PM

Yes I’ve been around for a while. I actually bought my first Impreza in August 1996, a red Turbo, before the craze all kicked off. No waiting list, and got £1,000 off list price. I’d drive it and go for weeks without seeing another one on the road. Kept it for two years and sold it for only £500 less than I bought it for. For those that remember, these cars had possibly the worst interior you could come across, but I would dearly love to buy a pre-MY97 facelift car to buy which was original. The awfulness of the interior is now what gives them their beauty and originality now.

(That interior coupled with the light green metallic colour they did on the MY94, they did look awful! The colour was very rare for I guess obvious reasons!)

In Jan 1999, bought another, no discounts, 6 month waiting list. Sold that then moved to Evos, with a blue GSR and then a red Makinen.