Blobeye STI JDM advice needed please

Search this Thread

Old 31 March 2021, 12:41 AM
Gazza82
Scooby Newbie

Received 24 Likes on 15 Posts
Default Blobeye STI JDM advice needed please

Evening all,

I’ve been lurking on here for a little while but it’s my first post so hello!

After a little while away from performance cars due to life, work and other things going on I’m now in a position to get myself a toy and I’ve decided to look for a nice JDM Blobeye STI.

Having been playing with Fords for the last 22 or so years (Cosworths, Focus RS’s and ST’s, RS Turbos etc........), I’m bored with them and want to try something else and a Subaru is the only thing that appeals to me. The only thing is, I don’t know a massive amount about them so I have a few questions, I’m sure they’ve been covered before so I apologise in advance!

1. What are the main issues to look for on them? I’m a mechanic by trade so I know the general things to look at, just wondered if they suffered with anything in particular.

2. Once I’ve found myself a nice one, I’ll be wanting to do some mods to it. I’m looking to aim for around 400 ish bhp as most of my cars have been over that power. What’s the best way of achieving getting to that power and what parts will I need?

3. What other mods are worthwhile doing? I’ll be sorting the suspension and brakes etc, what is a good setup for a fast road car?

4. What would be a good clutch to use? I’d like a clutch that isn’t too heavy to use as I had a bike crash several years ago which pretty much destroyed my knee so I struggle with a very heavy clutch. I’m not too worried about the clutch being sharp, just the weight of the pedal.

5. Who would you guys recommend for mapping? I don’t mind travelling or paying decent money for a good job.

6. Are there any dealers that deal in the JDM cars that you would recommend to buy from? I’ve done a bit of research and it’s definitely a JDM car that I want.