Sponsored by:

Buying advice for a newbie

Search this Thread

Old 18 May 2020, 12:33 PM
bashman888
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Buying advice for a newbie

Evening people, I’ve decided I want an Impreza for my next car but there is just so much stuff out there to wade through that I thought I would ask for help.

I’ve got around 5k to spend but I could probably push this to 6k for the right car. Would just mean I don’t have any reserves just in case.

What the hell do I buy?! I definitely want a classic and I’d really like a later one as I just prefer the front end. So 98/99/00. An STI and a 2 door are out of my budget. I really would love a Steel grey coloured one. Are the U.K. 2000 worth a go or are the imports just better?

I build engines for a living so I’m not afraid of any mechanical issues but wiring and bodywork I can’t do. Should I be afraid of rust or just go in with an open mind. Some are being advertised with rusty arches. Others have been done and need painting. Should I be paying 3/4K for one that is gonna need some work or is that over the top?

Apologies for all the questions but I’ve been reading the forums for weeks now so have decided to ask direct.

Thanks. Ash

Last edited by bashman888; 18 May 2020 at 12:37 PM.
Old 18 May 2020, 12:56 PM
NOSSY_89
Scooby Regular

Received 447 Likes on 371 Posts

Hi and welcome

People will probably say if it has a spot of rust its worth a can of coke and a pack of crisps lol. But lets be honest these cars are running very thin on the ground. Whatever rust you see there will probably be more that you can't see. Check MOTs to see if any other rust was previously spotted.

You have a healthy budget and you could get a decent enough RB5. Just keep looking until one comes up for sale.
Old 18 May 2020, 01:13 PM
bashman888
Scooby Newbie