Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

M3 - test drive - didn't like it

Search this Thread

Old 14 May 2001, 07:01 AM
Shaker
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Well I thought Id write in with the results of my M3 test drive, seeing as its on the agenda right now. Normally I hate BMW’s. I hate BMW drivers, and the idea of driving one normally has me getting into my 94 Impreza Turbo to go and hunt down 318 driving scum just for a larf. But everyone reckons that its the dog’s, so I went to Sytner in Leicester last time I was back, to try one out.

Well it took ages to get a test drive – typical yuppy scum at the dealer wouldn’t believe me at first until I told them I worked in IT and had loads of tax free disposable income. Only when I told them that I was interested in the new Impreza STI as well did they let me have a go. First impresions are that the car is really boring looking – the usual fat-cat, lardy-arsed BMW with comfy seats. And apart from the tarty chrome wheels (and lowered springs), front panel, mirrors, four exhaust pipes (I reckon they’re just there for show) and M badging everywhere, it looks just like a 318is. And the interior is just like a tarted up 316. Grrr, its already making me angry! Bloody BMWs, what are they like eh!!!

Fact: the M3 is totally number in the steering. Even throwing it as hard as I could round the roundabouts near the M1, it’s got no feel. Not like my Turbo. The motor is OK but sounds like a farty old 318 (there’s that number again – god I hate the sound of it!!) until you wind it right out. It was a bit rough near the red line, but the car was almost stone cold (before anyone complains about thrashing a test car – listen I don’t care I’m a CUSTOMER and I’m always right, he heh). And the gearshift was really clunky. Nice switches on the dashboard and stuff, but who buys a performance car to get fancy electronics? I know – bloody BMW drivers!! Got they’re such PANSIES.