Other Marques Non-Subaru Vehicles

Volvo XC70, Audi A4 Avant or Audi A6 Avant

Search this Thread

Old 23 January 2015, 07:30 AM
henrysmith
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Volvo XC70, Audi A4 Avant or Audi A6 Avant

After anyone who has experience of owning or working on these cars?

We need as a second car a fairly big estate but almost has to be 4WD. Not too many choices but these are the favourites so far.

Volvo XC70 Lux Se (2.4 D5 diesel) 07 plate
Audi A4 Avant (3.0 TDI Quattro) 55 plate
Audi A6 Avant (3.0 TDI Quattro) 07 plate

I have had a good search online for info - Chains seem to fail in the engines for the Audi A4 (but not the A6 strangely), Air suspension goes on the A6. Volvo almost rock solid allegedly?

Anything we have forgotten/missed - must be fairly economical (more than the impreza wagon!)

Any first hand experience would be most helpful - cheers.

H.
Old 23 January 2015, 07:57 AM
scottpolestar
Scooby Regular

Im a volvo tech and i personally would have the volvo just get one with good service history i work on quite a few that are running 200k plus miles and are still sweet as a nut
Old 23 January 2015, 08:39 AM
pflowers
Scooby Regular

Isn't the XC70 a Ford Kuga?

Edit- just realised the Xc70 is a jacked up V70, I'm thinking of the XC60

I used to own a 53 plate V70, well built and reliable but dull as hell.

Last edited by pflowers; 23 January 2015 at 08:44 AM.
Old 23 January 2015, 09:00 AM
ditchmyster
Scooby Regular

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

For me it has to be the Volvo as well, might even get one for the Mrs when the current hack dies, failing that in estate form and to widen the search I'd opt for the V70 Cross- Country and as a last resort the Audi All-Road.

Good service history and loads of money spent fairly recently is what I usually go for, it's a little trick I picked up over the years that has served me well for trouble free motoring.

Last edited by ditchmyster; 23 January 2015 at 09:02 AM.