Non Scooby Related Anything Non-Scooby related

Interview Travel Expenses

Search this Thread

Old 03 July 2013, 12:28 PM
David Lock
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Interview Travel Expenses

Is it normal for a company to offer to meet a candidate's travel expenses for attending an interview these days?

I am speaking about a 20k a year job and about £30 at 40p per mile charged.

David
Old 03 July 2013, 12:38 PM
Graz
Scooby Regular

Any respectable company should offer to reimburse you but I wouldn't expect it. If they don't offer it then there's nothing you can do really other than hope you get the job
Old 03 July 2013, 12:42 PM
tony de wonderful
Scooby Regular

Originally Posted by Graz
Any respectable company should offer to reimburse you but I wouldn't expect it. If they don't offer it then there's nothing you can do really other than hope you get the job
I had a handful of interviews after I graduated where I had to buy things like train tickets and they all offered to reimburse. One company said no because I wasn't a student. I'm glad they didn't offer me a job because such treatment is bang out of order.
Old 03 July 2013, 06:16 PM
_Meridian_
Scooby Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

In the last twelve months I had about twelve interviews, and only two offered to reimburse. One included a hotel room due to the interview time and the distance. Another which involved the same did not offer. It's nice, but do NOT expect it. Remember, you have more to lose than them, unless they approached you.
Old 03 July 2013, 07:43 PM
boxst
Scooby Regular

I would expect hotels to be paid for, but probably not train/car.

I interviewed in San Francisco two months ago and that they said they would reimburse. I got the job, started Monday so my first expense report!
Old 04 July 2013, 09:21 AM
SinghSuperStud
Scooby Regular