Notices
Non Scooby Related Anything Non-Scooby related

The writing's on the wall for Universities.....

Search this Thread

Old 17 May 2012, 10:19 AM
ScoobyDoo555
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Angry The writing's on the wall for Universities.....

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/education-18060226

NO increase in "contact" time, despite tripling the fees.
Higher Education is no longer value for money.

Disgraceful and shameful.

And yes, I'm a Lecturer.
Old 17 May 2012, 10:39 AM
GlesgaKiss
Scooby Regular

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Interesting. How long have you been a lecturer? Apart from this, what do you think of the way higher education has changed in recent years and the general standard of higher education in the UK?
Old 17 May 2012, 10:42 AM
ScoobyWon't
Scooby Regular

More importantly, why are you wasting time posting here, when you could be out increasing "contact" with the students?

Surely there must be some attractive students worth extended "contact"
Old 17 May 2012, 11:57 AM
ScoobyDoo555
Scooby Regular

LOL. The "contact" you refer to actually makes my skin crawl.

My academic/teaching contact is minimal at the moment (more so facilitation) due to end-of-year assessments.

FWIW, I've been a Lecturer for 12 years now. Starting part-time when I began to leave the Music Business, and now run a Music Tech section. I balance my time between management and admin, class-contact and outside work.
I hate the excessive admin paperwork, but love the lessons and outside work.

The daft thing about HE is that the delivery of lessons/subjects hasn't actually changed that much (imho). What has changed is that the fees have gone up with no perceivable REAL benefit to the customer (student).