Notices
Non Scooby Related Anything Non-Scooby related

Motor bikes on the motor way....

Search this Thread

Old 18 January 2012, 07:52 PM
RobsyUK
Scooby Regular

Received 183 Likes on 141 Posts
Default Motor bikes on the motor way....

I don't mind bikes but have a question... There's heavy traffic on the motorway and at a crawl and bikes wizz down the inside of the middle lane. If I'm pulling into the middle lane, don't see them and hit them who's at fault?

This hasn't happened and I'd like to think I'm a safe driver but using the M1& M25 a lot at the minute I see a few bikes getting pretty close.

With the way some people just swerve into a lanes I can't belive no one has been hit yet...
Old 18 January 2012, 08:11 PM
Milamber
Scooby Senior

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Does mirror, signal, manoeuvre not get taught nowadays?
Old 18 January 2012, 08:31 PM
nik52wrx
Scooby Regular

Probably not and neither does indicating on roundabouts!

Originally Posted by Milamber
Old 18 January 2012, 08:32 PM
ALi-B
Support Scoobynet!

Received 301 Likes on 240 Posts

Filtering speed is a key here.

A rider should only filter at speed that is roughly a jogging pace faster than the surrounding traffic (i.e speed+10mph). Any faster and the rider is asking to be thrown over the handle bars.

Mirror signal manouver doesn't work if the bike is travelling 30mph faster than everything else on the road.
IMHO.
Old 18 January 2012, 08:36 PM
ScoobyJawa
Scooby Regular

Originally Posted by Milamber
You are kidding right, have you been on the roads lately?

Of course they don't!!

I ride very carefully in those situations as lane changing by drivers is VERY frequent. I do wonder how some bikers survive seeing how they ride on motorways.......
Old 18 January 2012, 08:39 PM
RobsyUK
Scooby Regular

I always look signal look then SLOWLY move.. I was lead to belive a bike zipping up the middle was illegal as its an undertake. ..
Old 18 January 2012, 08:40 PM
jameswrx
Scooby Regular