Default TV Experts - panasonic tx-42e3b

Looked at this tv today for £480.

Good or bad choice?

Chop
Old 08 October 2011, 07:37 AM
Dingdongler
Scooby Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Chopper, why have you decided to go LED?
Old 08 October 2011, 08:40 AM
Account deleted by request
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Originally Posted by Dingdongler
Chopper, why have you decided to go LED?
Good question.

I've had a wander round John Lewis, currys etc and to be honest I just think the picture quality is sharper.

I'm no expert and don't think i would be able to tell much difference between led, lcd and plasma, but for some reason I am just leaning towards led even though it is a bit more than I want to spend.

Chop
Old 08 October 2011, 08:54 AM
hux309
Also known as daz

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts

Have a nose at samsung, though pricey their d8000 is stunning.
Old 08 October 2011, 08:55 AM
fatscoobfella1
Scooby Regular

http://www.johnlewis.com/231209826/Product.aspx

Have a look at the Sammy equivalent and see what you think..

Have a fiddle with settings on all TV's though.. Backlight is usually set very high as are contrast and colour. Tone everything down and you will get a true representation of the TV..
Old 08 October 2011, 08:59 AM
Jamz3k
Scooby Regular

Chop, I would aim for the 42e30 if you can. Some places are doing great deals on it. Such a wonderful looking tv when run in. Out of the box, its pretty awful looking.
Old 08 October 2011, 09:05 AM
Jamz3k
Scooby Regular

As for the samsungs, I wouldn't bother with them. The current range including the flagship D8000 led suffer from motion blur and stuttering which I think is to do with over processing of the image as it becomes quite acceptable once you've turned off half the gimmicks they charge you for on the TV.
Old 08 October 2011, 09:58 AM
jonc
Scooby Regular

Received 18 Likes on 13 Posts

Have a look LG 42LE8900 - Full array LED and awsome picture in THX Cinema mode.