Notices
Non Scooby Related Anything Non-Scooby related

thinking of going self employed pros and cons?

Search this Thread

Old 21 February 2011, 03:05 PM
Mus
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default thinking of going self employed pros and cons?

Hi guys

Im currently an estate agent (go easy on me) I have been an estate agent for the past 10 years I also have another business where I import goods from the far east, I wont go on to the details as some might look at it as advertising.

I’ve rang up the tax people and they will send me out some forms, my other business isn’t vat registered as im not turning over anywhere near 64k yet. I do have an EROI number and I pay full duty and taxes on every thing I bring over.

If I become self employed can make a limited company and do my estate agency full time and my other part time business all under the same business name? can you guys recommend a good accountant around the London area.

Im currently on a basic plus commission I pay for fuel and insurance from my pocket I do have a company phone though.

My boss turned around and said that I won’t get paid for my holidays so I replied well I haven’t had a pay rise for nearly 2 years subject to the way the market has been and if I go self employed that he won’t have to pay tax and N.I contribution. Was I right to say that as i need my holiday pay to cover my mortage bills ect.

Many thanks in advance
Old 21 February 2011, 03:20 PM
Puff The Magic Wagon!
Support Scoobynet!

Received 15 Likes on 9 Posts

In theory if you earn £10k pa, he will save the Employer's NI Contrib of 13% or thereabouts, so you could ask him to increase your pay by 8% (gives him something too). Then you can charge VAT on your "salary" and that would also be of benefit to him...
Old 21 February 2011, 05:23 PM
Mus
Scooby Regular

thanks for that little 13% info i just told him how much he can save and he was like who told you that lol