Need A Job ?

Search this Thread

Old 02 July 2009, 11:28 PM
wrx davs
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need A Job ?

Hi guys and gals

Ok so I've had my class 1 hgv licence for about a month now and am desperately seeking a job but I keep coming up against the same old thing........ No experience !

So my question, is there any company out there that has proved to give people like me a shot ?
I'm willing to do almost anything including unsociable hours.

Any ideas

Dave
Old 03 July 2009, 01:24 AM
Glowplug
Scooby Regular

Originally Posted by wrx davs
I'm willing to do almost anything including unsociable hours.
Dave
Thats the only sort there is for a propper class1 driver

It is hard at the mo mate I've had my class 1 12 years now with experience in everything exept tippers, tanks and livestock.
I have been off the road since March when the company i worked for went bust and am chomping at the bit to get back at it.

When i first started the way in was via an agency on 'ad-hoc' work which is seriously tempting me again. The job has steadily gone down hill until the resession started to kick in then the **** fell out of it propper.

Rang up for one yesterday, 60hrs+, 23.5k +expenses. I got no ADR so

Where abouts in the country are you??

Last edited by Glowplug; 03 July 2009 at 01:33 AM.
Old 03 July 2009, 07:14 AM
chocolate_o_brian
Scooby Regular

Send a pm to 'richieh' on here. He's a mate of mine and drives lorries. Was in a similar situation if I remember correctly (sick mrs) so may be able to offer advice?
Old 03 July 2009, 09:09 AM
Jamescsti
Scooby Regular

I would suggest approaching an agency as well, my mate passed his class 2 and went to an agency, found work fairly quickly, probably best way in at the moment
Old 03 July 2009, 10:29 AM
wrx davs
Scooby Regular

i'm between leeds and wakefield with castleford and normanton not too far away either.
thanks for the help guys guess its a matter of just keep trying
Old 03 July 2009, 12:59 PM