Notices
Non Scooby Related Anything Non-Scooby related

Help a complete novice with a MTB brake upgrade please....

Search this Thread

Old 21 September 2008, 11:00 PM
MartinM
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help a complete novice with a MTB brake upgrade please....

I want to change the cantilever brakes on a Rockhopper to V-brakes, but I don't understand:

- how the new rear cable would work - currently just have a short cable to a ferrule into a 'bracket' near the front of the top tube, then what appears to be a plastic outer (with the inner inside!) to the back of the top tube and through a small dia. metal tube to come out directly and centrally above the brake. But the other V-brake bike in the house has a 'bracket' near the back end of the top tube as well, and a ferrule-short outer cable running down to the V-brake. ...
-...so how do I get a V-brake to work on the current top tube?

- are the cantilever mounting points on the forks universal i.e V-brakes would just fit straight on. All V-brakes - or just some?

- what type V-brakes to get - mid-price options? Avid Single Digit 7 2008 look like they get good reviews...

Cheers
Martin
Old 22 September 2008, 12:10 AM
Scoobyols69
Scooby Regular

post pics up of your bike mate il ask my mate about it for you
Old 22 September 2008, 12:24 AM
nixxon
Scooby Regular

You used to be able to get little collars that went around the seat tube, just above the top tube. This formed a stop for the outer cable between the V-brake arm and the open cable running along the top tube. Kona used to fit them , among others.
Or you could just run a long outer cable all the way from the lever to the v-brake, zipo tied to the top tube.

There's nowt wrong with avid brakes. I've had the same set now for over 10 years! If you can afford it, get Gore Ride on cables. NOTHING else performs anywhere near as well. And I mean nothing, no matter what the bike shop man says. If they don't sell them, go somewhere else.