Non Scooby Related Anything Non-Scooby related

Any good cooks out there??

Search this Thread

Old 30 March 2008, 09:21 PM
classic Subaru Si
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Any good cooks out there??

I class myself as a pretty good cook at home, I cook every meal from scratch most nights - Now, I fancy doing some scallops - not affraid of the challenge, just don't really know what to put with them want to supprise the gf, but don't want to kill her Any tips would be much appriciated, either cooking them or putting a good dish together! Before anyone starts, I know it's a bit Dale Winton, but I really enjoy bein in the kitchen with a good few beers/wine!! It's mint lads, you should try it some time!!
Old 30 March 2008, 09:36 PM
classic scooby
Scooby Regular

hello mate

i'm a chef and in our restaurant i do a scallop,black pudding and crispy bacon salad,personally i like them with fresh(not dried)tagliatelle pasta and a pesto dressing,you could serve it with a nice salad,you can choose yourself what to put in the salad.

hope this helps a little

feel free to pm me if you want any more ideas

regards

nick.
Old 30 March 2008, 09:41 PM
GCollier
Scooby Regular

A couple of scallop starters I've cooked:
1) Seared scallops with fried potatoes (arranged in a ring scallop - potato - scallop etc), with flakes of truffle and drizzled with truffle oil.
2) Seared scallops drizzed with olive oil infused with chillis on a bed of rocket.

They also go nicely in a paella which I cook sometimes with our Spanish au pair.

Gary.
Old 30 March 2008, 09:58 PM
classic Subaru Si
Scooby Regular

Spanish au pair!?!?! Sounds mint mate Do fancy heating things up with chilli, also heard before that black pud goes well with them Was gonna do a pea/mint puree with them originally Is it worth cooking them in white wine?
Old 30 March 2008, 10:10 PM
boxst
Scooby Regular

This was the one from Gordon Ramsey's "cook a long":