Notices
Non Scooby Related Anything Non-Scooby related

Pakistan - Youtube - censorship?

Search this Thread

Old 25 February 2008, 10:28 AM
The Zohan
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Pakistan - Youtube - censorship?

BBC NEWS | Technology | YouTube outage blamed on Pakistan

Ir seems a shame that the Pakistani government deems the site unislamic so bans it. Surely it would be better to let people make up their own minds - ultimately people should have a choice or am i wrong.

They quote a danish cartoons - surely it is better that the people can see them if they wish to and make up their own minds?!?

This is not a pop at Pakistanis or Islam, Dubai was the similar limited acess to approved sites only so i have some experience of this myself. I am more interested in what people feel, is it better to just ban or should people be allowed to choose - if they wish to.

Last edited by The Zohan; 25 February 2008 at 10:46 AM.
Old 25 February 2008, 10:55 AM
Luminous
Scooby Regular

there are very few societies that are free. All governments try and control content they deem undesirable.

Shame really, as people should be able to make up their minds.
Old 25 February 2008, 10:57 AM
cookstar
Scooby Regular

Are China not havily restricted as to what they can view as well?
Old 25 February 2008, 11:00 AM
The Zohan
Scooby Regular

Originally Posted by cookstar
Are China not havily restricted as to what they can view as well?
Yes, now you mention it i seem to remember You Tube banned in China as it has clips of the massacre in the square.
Old 25 February 2008, 11:01 AM
Steve vRS
Scooby Regular

Angry

Originally Posted by Paul Habgood
Yes, now you mention it i seem to remember You Tube banned in China as it has clips of the massacre in the square.
Is that the massacre that Ken Livingston compared to the poll tax riots when asked to justify his involvement in China?

Steve
Old 25 February 2008, 11:04 AM
Tidgy
Scooby Regular

Received 150 Likes on 115 Posts